Factsheet: Memorial Sites after 22 July

- In December 2011, the Stoltenberg II Government resolves to establish national memorial sites for the attacks of 22 July 2011, to be located on the island of Utøya (within Hole municipality) and in the Government Quarter in Oslo. The government establishes a steering group with a mandate to: 1) consider the content of the memorial sites; 2) present proposals for potential locations; and 3) present proposals for the process for establishing the memorial sites. Åse Kleveland is appointed to chair the steering group.
- 20 April 2012: The steering group presents its report to the Ministry of Culture. On the basis
 of the report, the government decides to establish two official memorial sites in honour of
 those who died, the survivors, members of the emergency services, and the volunteers who
 came to assist. One site will be on the mainland in Hole municipality looking out towards
 Utøya. The other site, in Oslo's government quarter, will initially take the form of a
 temporary memorial, which will be replaced by a permanent memorial site once
 construction work in the government quarter has been completed. The Utøya memorial site
 and the temporary Oslo memorial site will be completed on 22 July 2015.
- 30 July 2012: Public Art Norway receives an official commissioning letter from the Ministry of Culture and establishes an art committee. The committee consists of a representative of the National Support Group for Victims of the 22 July Attacks, a representative of the Labour party's youth section (AUF), a government-appointed representative, an architect, a representative of Statsbygg, and two art consultants from Public Art Norway.
- 19 November 2012: Initial meeting of art committee
- 4 April 2013: In light of the steering group's report, the government announces that the national memorial site in Hole municipality should be located at Sørbråten. The choice of location is announced by the then Minister of Government Administration and Church Affairs, Rigmor Aasrud.
- 19 June 2013: The art committee's art plan is approved by Svein Bjørkås, Director of Public Art Norway.
- 20 June 2013: Issuing of open invitation to compete in an international pre-qualification.
- 10 October 2013: Eight finalists are invited to participate in a closed competition.
- 23 February 2014: The competition submissions are presented at an exhibition in the City Hall Gallery, Oslo.
- 27 February 2014: The chair of the jury, Jørn Mortensen, who is an art consultant at Public Art Norway, announces that Jonas Dahlberg has been appointed to create the three memorial sites ("Memory Wound", "Time and Movement" and "Dialogue for the Future").

- O9 April 2014: Public meeting at Sundvolden Hotel, close to Tyrifjorden. Jørn Mortensen (chair of the art committee) presents the art project, Statsbygg present the construction project.
- 28 April 2014: The Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Jan Tore Sanner announces that completion of the memorial site at Sørbråten will be postponed for one year, to 22 July 2016.
- 10 June 2014: Consultation meeting at Sundvolden Hotel. Information for local residents and the residents' association about the process and further plans for the establishment of the memorial site.
- 02 July 2014: Public Art Norway signs a contract with Jonas Dahlberg Studio. For all three projects, (the permanent memorial site in Hole municipality and the temporary and permanent sites in the Government Quarter) the contract amounts to NOK 17, 000,000.
- 10 November 2014: Public meeting at Sundvollen Hotel with The Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Jan Tore Sanner in attendance.
- 15 April 2015: The Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Jan Tore Sanner receives a report titled "Psychosocial consequences of the National Memorial Site in Hole municipality".
- Winter 2015/16: Public Art Norway holds meetings with the National Support Group for Victims of the 22 July Attacks, Utstranda Residents' Association and AUF/ The Workers' Youth League.
- O5 April 2016: The Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Jan Tore Sanner and Minister of culture Linda Hofstad Helleland announce the ratification of the Governmental Area Development Plan for the National Memorial Site at Sørbråten.

Members of the steering group (the Kleveland committee):

Åse Kleveland (chair)

Kristin Berge (secretary general at the Ministry of Culture)

Ingrid Vad Nilsen (director general at the Ministry of Government Administration, Reform and Church Affairs)

John Hestnes (from the Government Quarter Local Support Group for Victims of the 22 July Attacks) Tonje Brenna (then general secretary of AUF/The Workers' Youth League.

Trond Henry Blattmann (then chair of the National Support Group for Victims of the 22 July Attacks)

Members of the Art Committee:

Jørn Mortensen (art consultant, Public Art Norway and chair of the Art Committee for the 22 July Memorial Sites) Per Gunnar Eeg-Tverrbakk (art consultant, Public Art Norway) Bente Erichsen (representing the government) Mari Aaby West (AUF/ The Workers' Youth League) John Hestnes (National Support Group for Victims of the 22 July Attacks) Magne Magler Wiggen (architect) Jo Ulltveit-Moe (Statsbygg)

Public Art Norway:

Director: Svein Bjørkås Project manager: Nora Ceciliedatter Nerdrum Press enquiries: Annicken Vargel Further information about the 22 July Memorial Sites is available at: http://publicartnorway.org/prosjekter/memorial-sites-after-22-july/

Key documents

The art committee's art plan for the 22 July Memorial Sites: <u>http://publicartnorway.org/content/uploads/2016/03/Art-Plan.pdf</u> Jonas Dahlberg's proposals for memorial sites: <u>http://publicartnorway.org/content/uploads/2016/03/Jonas-Dahlberg_ENG.pdf</u>

In Norwegian only:

The steering group's report "Steder for a minnes og paminnes" ("Places for remembering and being reminded"):

Report titled "Psychosocial consequences of the National Memorial Site in Hole municipality":

https://www.nkvts.no/content/uploads/2015/08/psykososiale-konsekvenser-av-nasjonaltminnemerke-holekommune1.pdf

Ratification of Governmental Area Development Plan: National memorial site at Sørbråten for the attack on Utøya:

http://koro.no/content/uploads/2016/04/sorbraten_statlig_plan_vedtak.pdf